3 “Cool Tools” I’m Loving Right Now

The Crooked Pool Cool Tools- I'm Loving Right Now

Instapaper

 

 

 

 

I just learned about Instapaper. I haven’t really started using it yet, but I know it will come in handy during the work day. Instapaper allows you to save and curate news and other media so that you can digest it later. It will also read the article out loud to you – great for when you’re on the go. Download the app on Apple or Google Play. I love PopSugar’s coverage of great apps to enhance your digital life.

Snapchat

 

 

 

 

Snapchat. I know Snapchat isn’t new – especially to Gen Z (which is DIFFERENT FROM BEING A GEN Y MILLENNIAL – STOP GETTING US CONFUSED EVERY MEDIA OUTLET AND CONSULTANT EVER THANK YOU!!!). Being a  Gen Y Millennial, which means I was born somewhere between 1980-1995ish, I love and am pretty adaptive to new technology. However, it’s getting to the point where I’m really having to spend time studying new social media tools and trends without just inherently understanding them. Snapchat is a perfect example of something that I was like “I don’t get why this is cool” – but I’m starting to get the hang of it now, and there are TONS of brands already using it effectively. I’m excited to see how this impacts the nonprofit world that I work and play in.

Piktochart

 

 

 

 

Piktochart. If you’ve ever looked at those fancy/cool infographics and said to yourself: “I wish I had graphic design skills so I could make one of those.” Never fear – Piktochart is here! (In case you didn’t know, I’m an awesome poet – hence the cheesy rhyme). Piktochart (which is mostly free – you can upgrade for more features of course), makes it easy for you to design an infographic with their pre-made templates. If you’re familiar with Canva (and if you’re not, you should get all up in some Canva right now!), or any other web-based design or photo editing software, you’ll have no problem with Piktochart. I just made one for work, and I’m not shy to say that it turned out AWESOME. I can’t show it to you yet since we haven’t shared in on our channels yet, but stay tuned next week!

(Whew, I use parenthetical emphasis a lot!)

Cool Tools is just one of many topics I cover on Tuesday Tidbits – where I gush (or brag about) my favorite social media or digital tools at the moment. 

Leave a Reply

